NSW Women's Sevens teams looking for first time success at Nationals

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By Community Rugby

After an extensive selection process, two NSW Women's Sevens sides been selected to challenge for the title at the National Women's Sevens Championships 2013.

NSW will be represented by two sides - Blue and White, with selectors faced with a challenging task following the NSW Selection Tournament held at Rockdale Rugby Club in March, where over 130 players trialled for an opportunity to be selected.

Selectors then attended a NSW training camp at the Sydney Academy of Sport to put a squad of 30 hopeful players through an extensive training and simulated match to select the two sides.

The two NSW teams replace the Sydney Blue and White and NSW Country sides that represented NSW in the 2012 tournament, at which Queensland were crowned the inaugural National Women's Sevens Championships.

NSW will feature a talented blend of experience and youth, with Tiana Penitani, the youngest ever Australian Rugby representative, along with Cobie-Jane Morgan and Shontelle Stowers having represented the Qantas Women's Sevens during several IRB Tournaments. Amelia Jackson and Kate Lew are exciting selections to the squad after being identified through the inaugural NSW Women's Summer Sevens Series held in February.

The 2013 tournament features state teams from across the country, the National Indigenous Women’s Sevens team, an Invitational Barbarian team and international competitors Papua New Guinea, plus the inclusion of Oztag and Touch Football representative teams for the 2013 Championships.

The tournament will also feature several players who currently play for Qantas Women’s Sevens, with Rebecca Tavo (Qld), Emilee Cherry (Touch), Sharni Williams (ACT) and new schoolgirl recruit Brooke Anderson (Oztag).

The National Women's Rugby Sevens Championship is an important element of the Player Pathway at national, provincial, regional and affiliate level with the purpose to provide an effective platform for:

  • The identification and development of each state/territories talented Sevens players, coaches, managers, referees and other officials
  • The recruitment and retention of players, coaches, referees, managers and other officials
  • The benchmarking of talented Women's Sevens players
  • Assisting with the improvement of playing standards and development of the game in all participating states/territories and affiliates
  • Assisting with the selection of the National Women's Sevens squad
The 2013 National Women’s Rugby Sevens Championship runs 13-14 April at St. Ignatius College, Riverview, Sydney. 
NSW Selection
Alexandra Hargreaves, Sydney Uni
Hanna Sio, Parramatta
Jessica Palmer, Warringah
Cheryl McAfee, Warringah
Tui Ormsby, Warringah
Shontelle Stowers, Warringah
Tiana Pentiani, Maroubra
Lakeisha Tipene, Rockdale
Cobie-Jane Morgan, Warringah
Pareake O’Brien, Southern Districts
Kiia Parata, Rockdale
Tayma Terita, Rockdale
Alexandra Sulusi, Parramatta
Ariana Kaiwai, Penrith Phoenix
Megan Shanahan, Orange Emus
Mel Howard, Hamilton
Kenina Terita, Rockdale
Emma Lincoln-Smith, Warringah
Hayley Tipene, Rockdale
Margaret Watson, Newcastle Uni
Katherine Lew, Northern Suburbs
Amelia Jackson, Northern Suburbs
Mahalia Murphy, Penrith Phoenix
Tahlia Smith, Northern Suburbs

Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...