Queensland to Play NSW in Novotel Australian Schools Rugby Union Championship FInal

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By ARU Media Unit

Queensland will take on arch-rivals NSW in the Novotel Australian Schools Rugby Union Championship Final at Ballymore in Brisbane on Sunday.

Both sides remain unbeaten heading into the decider, with defending champions Queensland defeating  NSW II 32- 26 during the final pool round on Friday, while NSW made light work of QLD II, 49-6.

The Championship Final kicks off at 11am, with the Australia and Australia A Schoolboys sides to be named following the presentation.

Finals fixtures:

8.30am ACT v QLD 2 (Ballymore #2)

8.30am Western Australia v NSW 2

9.45am Combined States v VIC

11am Championship Final QLD 1 v NSW 1




Day 3 – Friday 8 July




Combined States 22 (Paul Asquith 1 try 1 con, Jake McIntyre 2 tries, 1 con, 1 pen) defeated WA 20 (Scott Tolmie, Michael Sutherland tries, Luke Burton 2 con, 2 pen)


NSW I 49
(Alex Northem 2, Nathan Scarano, Saia Tanginoa, Manasa Rokosuka, Clint Gutherson tries, Jack Debrenczeni 5 con 3 pen) v QLD II 6 (Samu Kerevi 2 pen)



VIC 20 (Eddy Maka, Junior Laloifi tries, Nuia Puaka 2 con, 2 pen) defeated ACT 5 (Joel Penders try)


QLD I 32 (Feao Fotuaika 2, Curtis Browning, Craig Hunt tries, Scott Malolua 2 con 1 pen, Sam Greene 1 con 1 pen) defeated NSW II  26 (Patrick Sio, Lalakai Foketi, Jack Dempsey, Fabian Natoli tries, Angus Le lievre 3 con)


Pool Standings after Day 3

NSW 1 (15); Combined States (9); WA (5); QLD II (0)

QLD I (15); VIC (8); NSW II (8); ACT (0)


Day 2 – Wednesday 6 July


Pool A:

NSW I 39 (Nathan Scarano 2, Saia Tanginoa 2, Mitchell Whiteley, Brogan Roads tries, Clint Gutherson 3 con 1 pen) defeated Combined States 14 (Mark Baldwin, Paul Asquith tries, Chris Smith con, Tom Banks con)

WA 23 (Josh Eisenstrager, Richard Hardwick, Brad Lacey tries, Luke Burton 1 con 2 pen) defeated QLD II 7 (Samu Kerevi 1 try, 1 con)


Pool B:

NSW II 31 (Harrison Orr, Angus Le Lievre, Fabian Natoli, Nathan Roye tries, Angus Le Lievre 4 con 1 pen) defeated ACT 19 (Jordon Read, Jake Helgesen, Rob Gillispie tries, Luke Morrison 1 con, Andrew Robinson 1 con)

QLD I 44 (Maile Ngamuno, Ben Meehan, Kahele Bowen, Grant Davies, Feao Fotuaika, Caleb Timu tries, Sam Greene 4 con, 2 pen) defeated VIC 10 (Eddie Maka try, Stefan Prelevoc 1 con, Niua Puaka 1 pen)


Day 1 - Monday 4 July

Pool A:

NSW I 28 (Rhys Domkins, Jack Percell, Clint Gutherson, Michael Wells tries, Clint Gutherson 4 con) defeated WA 11 (Ross Haylett-Petty try, Luke Burton 2 pen)

Combined States 31
(Monty Ione, Taupala Tasi, Paul Asquith tries, Chris Smith 1 try 1 con, Jake McIntyre 3 con, Tom Banks pen) defeated QLD II 17 (Joe Clay, Monty Ione, tries, Billy Britian 2 con pen)


Pool B:

Victoria 30
(Edwin Maka 2, Blain Brown, Nigel Tunavasa tries, Niua Puaka 2 con 4 pen) defeated NSW II 26 (Jack Walter, Sam Carroll tries, Angus Le Lievre try, 1 con, 3 Pen)

QLD I 54 (Caleb Timu 2, Curtis Browning, Soape Palau, Sean McMahon, Craig Hunt, Ben Meehan, Sam Greene tries, Grant Davies 1 con, Scott Malolua 4 con 2 pen) defeated ACT 13 (Tom Holland, Andrew Robertson tries, Willoughby Axelsen pen)

Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...