News Article

Force claims first win to break Brisbane duck

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By Force Media Unit

 The first half became a penalty shootout between Ebersohn and opposite number Quade Cooper with the Reds holding a 9-6 lead by the 30th minute.

Two minutes later Mathewson orchestrated the sole five-pointer of the match when he found space from the base of the ruck and scooted away before linking with Mafi, who outpaced the cover defence to touch down in the corner.
While Ebersohn landed a booming sideline conversion, Cooper added his fourth penalty three minutes from the break to get his side to within one point.
Ebersohn added his third penalty goal when Reds flanker Eddie Quirk received a yellow card for a shoulder charge on Force centre Kyle Godwin. 
The Force appeared to have extended their lead when replacement winger Junior Rasolea appeared to have scored in the left corner. The movement began with another Mathewson linebreak before the scrumhalf toed the ball through for a flying Rasolea, only to have TMO Steve Leszczynski disallow the try for a knock on. 
Ebersohn added a final penalty goal with 10 minutes remaining with the Force defensive line holding true for the dying stages of the match to take the seven-point win.
The Emirates Western Force returns to Perth tomorrow before taking to the new nib Stadium to face the Cheetahs next Saturday in their first home match of the season.
2013 Super Rugby – Week 5
Saturday, 16 March 2013 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 6.40pm (local)/4.40pm (AWST)
Emirates Western Force 19 (Alfie Mafi try; Sias Ebersohn 1/1 conversion, 4/5 penalty goals) defeated Queensland Reds 12 (Quade Cooper 4/5 penalty goals)
Emirates Western Force 
1. Pek Cowan (c), 2. Nathan Charles, 3. Salesi Ma’afu, 4. Toby Lynn, 5. Hugh McMeniman, 6. Angus Cottrell, 7. Chris Alcock, 8. Richard Brown, 9. Alby Mathewson, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 11. Alfie Mafi, 12. Kyle Godwin, 13. Winston Stanley, 14. Patrick Dellit, 15. Will Tupou. Res: 16. Heath Tessmann, 17. Tetera Faulkner, 18. Phoenix Battye, 19. Ben McCalman, 20. Mick Snowden, 21. Junior Rasolea, 22. Jayden Hayward
Coach: Michael Foley
Queensland Reds
1. Greg Holmes, 2. Saia Faingaa, 3. James Slipper, 4. Ed O’Donoghue, 5. Rob Simmons, 6. Eddie Quirk, 7. Liam Gill, 8. Jake Schatz, 
9. Will Genia (c), 10. Quade Cooper, 11. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12. Ben Tapuai, 13. Mike Harris, 14. Luke Morahan, 15. Jono Lance. Res: 16. James Hanson, 17. Albert Anae, 18. Adam Wallace-Harrison, 19. Jarrad Butler, 20. Nick Frisby, 21. Dom Shipperley, 22. Aidan Toua
Coach: Ewen McKenzie
Yellow Cards: Eddie Quirk (56th minute)
Red Cards: Nil
Referee: Angus Gardner
By the Clock
Min Details                                        Score
3 Sias Ebersohn Penalty Goal 3-0
12 Quade Cooper Missed PG 3-0
17 Quade Cooper Penalty Goal 3-3
21 Quade Cooper Penalty Goal 6-3
23 Sias Ebersohn Penalty Goal 6-6
30 Quade Cooper Penalty Goal 9-6
32 Alfie Mafi Try 11-9
33 Sias Ebersohn Conversion 13-9
37 Quade Cooper Penalty Goal 13-12
44 Sias Ebersohn Missed PG 13-12
56 Ed Quirk Sin Bin 13-12
57 Sias Ebersohn Penalty Goal 16-12
70 Sias Ebersohn Penalty Goal 19-12


In a turnaround round for the Australian conference in round ten of the Asteron Life Super Rugby Competition, The St.George Queensland Reds, NSW Waratahs and RaboDirect Rebels all recorded important victories for their respective seasons.  Read full article...
Round 9 of Asteron Life Super Rugby was a tipster’s nightmare, with all four Australian teams falling to New Zealand and South African sides over the weekend. Read full article...
Asteron Life Super Rugby Round 8 Preview: Melbourne Rebels vs Queensland Reds
The RaboDirect Melbourne Rebels will be looking to bounce back on Friday night after a disappointing loss to the competition leading Hurricanes. Read full article...
ARU and NZR Unite for ANZAC Day
The Australian Rugby Union and New Zealand Rugby will join forces this ANZAC Day as Rugby Remembers 100 years of service and sacrifice of those who have served Australia and New Zealand during periods of war and peace. Read full article...
Rebels return to winners circle as Brumbies extend lead
Round five of the Asteron Life Super Rugby competition has concluded with the RaboDirect Melbourne Rebels and the Aquis Brumbies emerging victorious in their Australian derby clashes against the Western Force and St.George Queensland Reds respectively. The NSW Waratahs were beaten by a strong Highlanders outfit in Dunedin.  Read full article...