2015 Asteron Life Super Rugby Finals Format

The Super Rugby finals is an expanded format which will feature six teams rather than preivous four team format used in Super 14.

The six teams will be made up of the Conference winners and the three next teams (Wildcard Teams) with the highest total number of points.

Each Conference will have one winner and therefore Australia, South Africa and New Zealand will each be guaranteed to have one team participating in the finals.


Week Match Home Team Away Team
1 A Qualifier Rank 4 Rank 5
  B Qualifier Rank 3 Rank 6
2 C Semi Rank 2 Winner of match A or B with highest playoff ranking
2 D Semi Rank 1 Other winner from match A or B
3 Final Winner of match C or D with highest playoff ranking Other winner from match C or D


Determining Winners of Playoff Matches - if the teams are tied at fulltime in any Playoff Match then the following will apply until a winner is found:

Extra Time - the procedure will be:

  • After a five minute rest period, the extra time is played in two 10 minute periods with a two minute halftime;
  • Before the extra time begins, the match referee will do a coin toss with the two captains one minute before the new kick-off.  The winner of the coin toss decides if his team wants to kick-off or if his team wants to choose the side of the pitch it wants to play on for the first 10 minute period;
  • For the second 10 minute period, the teams change sides and the team that did not kick off in the first period does so;
  • Coaches are not permitted on the field during the rest period or halftime.


Sudden Death – if the match is still drawn at the end of extra time, the procedure will be:

  • An up to 10 minute sudden death period is played after another five minute rest period;
  • The first team to score (by a penalty, drop-goal or try) will be the winner;
  • As for extra time, one minute before sudden death begins, the match referee will do a coin toss to choose which team kicks-off and on which side of the pitch.