2012 NZ Super Rugby Squads Named

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By NZRU Media Unit

New Zealand’s five Super Rugby franchises have named their squads for the 2012 season, each with a mouth-watering line-up of experienced and emerging international rugby talent.

A total of 28 brand new faces feature in the squads named today by the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders.  Another five familiar faces – Tusi Pisi, Tamati Ellison, Tim Bateman, Ross Kennedy and Rudi Wulf – all return from overseas to make their re-entry to the Super Rugby stage next year.

New Zealand Rugby Union General Manager Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen said the 153 players contracted into the five squads included an enticing mix of seasoned All Blacks, and real new talent coming through New Zealand rugby ranks. 

“These five Investec Super Rugby teams are the strongest and most exciting we have ever seen straight off the back of a Rugby World Cup year.  It’s reassuring that while some of our senior players are taking the next phase of their rugby careers offshore – the depth of talent available to Super Rugby selectors this year has been impressive,” Sorensen said.

Five Pacific Island and foreign players who starred in the recent Rugby World Cup have also been picked in the squads, including England No 8 James Haskell who will join the Highlanders after completing a spell with the Ricoh Black Rams in Japan. After a two-year stint in France, Haskell will return to his old team London Wasps at the conclusion of his season with the Southern men.  Others coming in from World Cup duty are new Hurricane Tusi Pisi (Samoa), and new Chiefs Kane Thompson, Mahonri Schwalger (both Samoa), and Sona Taumalolo (Tonga).

“The full transition to the new franchise contracting structure has again delivered an outstanding set of competitive, exciting and dynamic New Zealand Super Rugby teams.

Features of this year’s Investec Super Rugby selections include:
• 153 players across the five Investec Super Rugby franchises
• 28 players new to Super Rugby
• Of the 28, 12 ‘bolters’ were picked on 2011 ITM Cup form
• Eight players from the 2011 IRB Junior World Champions Under 20 side
• Two members of the IRB World Series winning Sevens team
• 14 players changing franchise colours

“For many New Zealanders, being involved in rugby has been an amazing experience in a Rugby World Cup winning year.  With such a fantastic line up of teams from the New Zealand franchises, I am sure they will bring something special to the 2012 Super Rugby season,” Sorensen said.


2012 Super Rugby Squads
Gareth Anscombe
Ben Afeaki
Jeffery Toomaga-Allen
Nicholas Barrett
Kurt Baker
Anthony Boric
Alex Bradley
Beauden Barrett
Tyler Bleyendaal
Josh Bekhuis
Daniel Braid
Sam Cane
Tim Bateman
Daniel Carter
Jimmy Cowan
Luke Braid
Craig Clarke
Michael Bent
Wyatt Crockett
Nick Crosswell
Charlie Faumuina
Shane Cleaver
James Broadhurst
Ryan Crotty
Elliot Dixon
Michael Hobbs
Aaron Cruden
Richard Buckman
Israel Dagg
Tamati Ellison
Jerome Kaino
Hika Elliot
Dane Coles
Tom Donnelly
Ma’afu Fia
Chris Lowrey
Mike Fitzgerald
Jason Eaton
Andy Ellis
Hosea Gear
Tevita Mailau
Romana Graham
Chris Eaton
Corey Flynn
John Hardie
Pauliasi Manu
Andrew Horrell
Reggie Goodes
Ben Franks
James Haskell
Alby Mathewson
Richard Kahui
David Hall
Owen Franks
Jarrad Hoeata
Tom McCartney
Tawera Kerr-Barlow
Jayden Hayward
Robbie Fruean
Andrew Hore
Keven Mealamu
Tanerau Latimer
Cory Jane
Ben Funnell
Chris King
Brad Mika
Fritz Lee
Daniel Kirkpatrick
Zac Guildford
Kendrick Lynn
George Moala
Brendon Leonard
Jack Lam
Willi Heinz
Jamie Mackintosh
Liaki Moli
Lelia Masaga
Alapati Leiua
Ross Kennedy
Nasi Manu
Lachie Munro
Liam Messam
Faifili Levave
Quentin MacDonald
Bronson Murray
Ma’a Nonu
Tim Nanai-Williams
Karl Lowe
Sean Maitland
Chris Noakes
Filo Paulo
Maritino Nemani
Motu Matu’u
Tom Marshall
Siale Piutau
David Raikuna
Declan O’Donnell
Ben May
Richie McCaw
Kade Poki
Rene Ranger
Brodie Retallick
Tristan Moran
Patrick Osborne
Culum Retallick
Peter Saili
Robbie Robinson
Charlie Ngatai
Kieran Read
Jason Rutledge
Benson Stanley
Mahonri Schwalger
TJ Perenara
Luke Romano
Colin Slade
Sherwin Stowers
Toby Smith
Tusi Pisi
Tom Taylor
Aaron Smith
Angus Ta’avao
Ben Tameifuna
Mark Reddish
Matt Todd
Ben Smith
Isaia Toeava
Sona Taumalolo
Julian Savea
Joe Wheeler
Lima Sopoaga
Piri Weepu
Kane Thompson
Brad Shields
Sam Whitelock
Adam Thomson
Ali Williams
Asaeli Tikoirotuma
Conrad Smith
George Whitelock
Doug Tietjens
Tony Woodcock
Scott Waldrom
Chris Smylie
Adam Whitelock
Shaun Treeby
Rudi Wulf
Sonny Bill Williams
Andre Taylor
Luke Whitelock
Telusa Veainu
Jackson Willison
Jeremy Thrush
Victor Vito