News Article

Australia on track for London Sevens title defence

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By ARU Media Unit

Australia’s London Sevens title defence is on track with coach Michael O’Connor’s side progressing through to the finals undefeated at Twickenham on Saturday (Sunday AEST).

The Aussies, featuring six players from last year’s record-breaking squad, showed signs of improvement in each of their three pool wins - all of which were achieved after reversing a halftime deficit.

Australia will take on South Africa in the Cup quarter-finals tomorrow in front of what is expected to be a world-record Sevens crowd, while New Zealand have all but secured the 2010/11 HSBC Sevens World Series title, after hosts England failed to progress in the top side of the draw.

Leading Australian try-scorer and skipper Bernard Foley took no time finding the chalk at Twickenham, crossing for two tries in his team’s opening 19-14 victory over Canada.

The young side then showed plenty of grit overturning a 21-0 halftime deficit against surprise-packets Scotland, to run in four tries in seven minutes and record an character-building 24-21 win.

Another boost for the young squad’s belief came when they toppled reigning World Series champions Samoa 21-20 in their final pool match, with Henry Vanderglas’ try deep into overtime giving kicker Hamish Angus the chance to steal the win with a successful conversion.

Last year, Australia broke an eight-year title drought with a thrilling 19-14 victory over South Africa in the Cup Final, and backed up their impressive performance up the following weekend by finishing runners-up to Samoa in Edinburgh.

Nearly 55,000 spectators attended day one of the penultimate leg of the 2010/11 HSBC Sevens World Series, which is the biggest crowd to attend a single day of the global series in its 12-year history.

With two tournaments remaining, New Zealand (134) and England (121) lead the race for the 2010/11 title with holders Samoa (100) and South Africa (92) possibly too far back to challenge. Fifth-placed Fiji (90) hold a commanding 38-point lead over sixth-placed Australia (52). 

Fox Sports will telecast highlights of the finals on June 2.
Cup QF fixtures
Australia v South Africa
Fiji v Samoa
Wales v France
New Zealand v Argentina

Day One results
Australia 19 (Bernard Foley 2, Dan Yakopo tries; Hamish Angus 2 cons) bt Canada 14
Australia 24 (Ed Jenkins 2, Foley, Greg Jeloudev tries; Angus 2 cons) bt Scotland 21
Australia 21 (Angus, Henry Vanderglas, Jono Lance tries; Angus 3 cons) bt Samoa 20

Australia: Bernard Foley (capt), Ed Jenkins, (vc), Hamish Angus, Lewis Holland, Zack Holmes, Greg Jeloudev, Jono Lance, Jesse Parahi, Brian Sefanaia, Jacob Taylor, Henry Vanderglas, Dan Yakopo.

London Sevens winners
2010: Australia
2009: England
2008: Samoa
2007: New Zealand
2006: Fiji
2005: South Africa
2004: England
2003: England
2002: New Zealand
2001: New Zealand

Australian Rugby Sevens proudly supported by the Australian Institute of Sport

Australian Sevens program inspired by AOC's IGNITE session
Players and staff from the Australian Sevens program gathered at Sydney Olympic Park last week as part of the Australian Olympic's Committee to build a supportive framework around the 2016 Australian Olympic Team. Read full article...
John pays tribute to departing trio
Australian Director Rugby Sevens Geraint John has heaped praise on three members of his backroom staff that have departed the Sevens program. Read full article...
Taliauli joins ACT Brumbies
Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach Geraint John has agreed to release utility Lausii Taliauli from the remainder of his contract to join Super Rugby franchise ACT Brumbies. Read full article...