ARU School Student Scholarship 2014

The ARU School Student Scholarship was introduced a number of years ago to help raise the profile of refereeing at schools, and to provide encouragement for young referees to remain in refereeing when they leave school. The program has proved very successful with a significant number of young referees progressing through the scholarship program to referee at senior levels in their state.

Victorian SSS recipients Ben Halstead and Andrew Smylie receive their TNT kit from Scott Young, Angus Gardner and Matt O'Brien.

Students selected for the SSS program will be involved in a range of activities designed to improve their knowledge of the game, enhance their performance as referees, and expose them to a higher standard of rugby.

The recipients for 2014 are:

ACT Thomas Brown Canberra Grammar School
ACT Mitchell Colbert Marist College
ACT Leo Kaczmarek St Mary MacKillop
ACT Chase Loadsman St Edmund’s College
ACT Tom Williamson Marist College
NSW James Boyer Shore School / SNRRA
NSW Morgan Broadbent-Wicks The Armidale School
NSW Elijah Dunning St Stanislaus
NSW Roy Elder Newington College / SSRRA
NSW Jack Gohl St Joseph's / SNRR
NSW Jeremy Jones Manly Selective High School / SNRR
NSW Thomas Morgan St Ignatius College
NSW Luke Mrakovcic Gymea TAFE / SSRRA
NSW Bryce Mullens Central Coast Grammar
NSW Rohahn Mundul Sydney Grammar / SNRR
NSW Jack Waining St Edward's College / CCRRA
NSW Alistair Wilson Knox Grammar / SNRR
NSW Toby Windsor Shore School / SNRR
QLD Dalton Kellher Rockhampton Grammar School
QLD Arlo Leckie St Luke’s Anglican School Bundaberg
QLD Drew Meehan The Gap State High School
QLD Tom Shulte The Southport School
QLD Stefan van der Linde Sunshine Coast Grammar School
VIC Benjamin Halstead Geelong Grammar
VIC Andrew Smylie Melbourne Grammar
WA Marcell Blackie Ellenbrook Secondary College
WA Mark Sherriff Shenton College