NRC: Rising and Stars name teams for winner-takes-all showdown

by Staff Writer

The Melbourne Rising will head into their Round Nine Buildcorp National Rugby Championship (NRC) match at Frankston Oval this Sunday against the Sydney Stars with an unchanged side from last week’s win in Geelong against the NSW Country Eagles.


It’s the first time this year that Head Coach Zane Hilton has had the luxury of retaining the same starting lineup, let alone full matchday squad, and it comes at the perfect time with the Melbourne Rising needing to win the match to guarantee that they have qualified for next week’s Semi Finals.


Hilton said Jack Debreczeni was right to go, after leaving the field early last week with a minor calf injury, and said his side were excited to rise to the occasion in Frankston.


“Jack was withdrawn last week as a precautionary method, and has trained fully this week; there’s no concern there,” Hilton said. “We are really excited to head to Frankston and show our wares in front of our home fans, and we’re looking forward to playing a patient, consistent 80 minute game.”


Sydney Stars Head Coach has also named his side for this do-or-die clash in regional Victoria. A win will guarantee a spot in the Semi-Finals but defeat will leave their fate in the hands of other results.


Tolu Latu has been named as hooker, while Dave Hickey will skipper the side from No 8. Tom Kingston continues at fullback.


Melbourne Rising team to play Sydney Stars:

1. Cruze Ah-Nau (Footscray & Rebels, 13 Melbourne Rising caps)

2. Pat Leafa (Box Hill & Rebels, 15 Melbourne Rising caps)

3. Duncan Chubb (Southern Districts (NSW), 7 Melbourne Rising caps)

4. Sam Jeffries (Melbourne Uni & Rebels, 15 Melbourne Rising caps)

5. Lopeti Timani (Footscray & Rebels, 12 Melbourne Rising caps)

6. Luke Jones (Moorabbin & Rebels, 13 Melbourne Rising caps)

7. Jordy Reid (Melbourne Unicorns & Rebels, 7 Melbourne Rising caps)

8. Colby Fainga’a (Footscray & Rebels, 6 Melbourne Rising caps) (Captain)

9. Ben Meehan (Box Hill & Rebels, 10 Melbourne Rising caps)

10. Jack Debreczeni (Endeavour Hills & Rebels, 16 Melbourne Rising caps)

11. Stacey Ili (Melbourne Uni, 6 Melbourne Rising caps)

12. Sione Tuipulotu (Southern Districts, 7 Melbourne Rising caps)

13. Dom Shipperley (Melbourne Uni & Rebels, 5 Melbourne Rising caps)

14. Justin Marsters (Harlequin, 5 Melbourne Rising caps)

15. Jonah Placid (Melbourne Uni & Rebels, 14 Melbourne Rising caps)


16. Mitch Andrews (Melbourne Unicorns, 4 Melbourne Rising caps)

17. Mike Tyler (Power House, 2 Melbourne Rising caps)

18. Tom Moloney (Brothers (QLD), 5 Melbourne Rising caps)

19. Steve Cummins (Harlequin & Rebels, 7 Melbourne Rising caps)

20. Pom Simona (Harlequin, 13 Melbourne Rising caps)

21. Maradona Farao (Harlequin, 4 Melbourne Rising caps)

22. Lloyd Johansson (Harlequin, 16 Melbourne Rising caps)

23. Filipe Vilitati (Box Hill, 4 Melbourne Rising caps)


Sydney Stars team to play Melbourne Rising:

1. Jeremy Tilse

2. Tolu Latu

3. Kirwan Sandy

4. Loma Kavenga

5. Matt Philip

6. Rohan O'Regan

7. Jordan Tuapou

8. David Hickey

9. Jake Gordon

10. Angus Roberts

11. Harry Jones

12. Tom Carter

13. Jim Stewart

14. Guy Porter

15. Tom Kingston


16. Todd Pearce

17. Alasdair King

18. Liam McGrath

19. Senio Toleofoa

20. Jake Wainwright

21. Richard Draper

22. Jordan McGregor

23. Andrew Robinson

Join the discussion