Contact your State Union

The ARU, in consultation with the State Unions is responsible for course content and accreditation.  Coaching programs can be divided into two categories:

  • Accreditation Courses
    • Smart Rugby (2 year qualification)
    • Level One
    • Level Two
    • Level Three
  • Certificate Courses (non-accredited);
    • Foundation Course
    • Coaching Kids Rugby
    • Junior Sevens 
    • Senior Sevens

Accreditation courses are registered with the Australian Sports Commission and coaches have a 'licence' for four (4) years. After that time the coach must either re-accredit or complete a higher level of coaching accreditation.

Each State Union run numerous courses during the year at major venues with professionally trained staff. 

For information on course dates and venues,contact your local State Union office.



State Union Contacts

AUSTRALIAN RUGBY UNION

Jayson Brewer

Coach Development Programs Manager

P: (02) 80303323

E: Jayson.brewer@rugby.com.au


BRUMBIES RUGBY

Russell Ingram 

Coaching and Pathways Manager

P: +61 2 6283 8520

E: R.Ingram@Brumbies.com.au


NSW RUGBY UNION

Luke Thiessen

Coach Education Coordinator

P: +61 2 8030 3324

E:  Luke.Thiessen@rugby.com.au


NT RUGBY UNION

Damien Tyson

Rugby Development Manager

P: +61 (0)8 8945 1444

E: damien.tyson@ntrugby.com.au


QRU RUGBY UNION

Lachlan Parkinson

Game Development Manager

P: +61 7 3354 9323

E: Lachlan.Parkinson@qru.com.au


SA RUGBY UNION

Jack Campion

Sevens Development Coordinator

P: (08) 7070 6940

E: coaching@sarugby.com.au


TAS RUGBY UNION

Christo LeGrange

Development Officer

E: Christo.LeGrange@rugby.com.au


VIC RUGBY UNION

Nic Henderson

Elite Pathway Manager

P: +61 3 9221 0735 

E: Nic.Henderson@melbournerebels.com.au


WA RUGBY UNION

Graham Cooper

Game Development Manager

P: +61 8 9387 0711

E: Graham.Cooper@rugbywa.com.au