John Eales Medal award nominees revealed

Posted @ 10/22/2014    By ARU Media Unit
Posted in [ ARU Media ] | 0 Comments

On Thursday night, the ARU will be hosting its prestigious John Eales Medal awards ceremony in Sydney, an evening which identifies and congratulates the men and women who have shown true capability both on and off the field in Australian Rugby.

The event’s centerpiece, the John Eales Medal, is an annual award given to the recipient who has been considered the most outstanding performing player across the last 12 months within the Qantas Wallabies squad.

Last year, current Wallabies captain Michael Hooper took home the award and could go back-to-back having been revealed as a nominee yet again.

Along with Hooper, Qantas Wallaby team-mates Israel Folau, Stephen Moore, James Slipper and Tevita Kuridrani will also be in the running for Australian Rugby’s biggest individual accolade.

Along with the John Eales Medal, new inductees will be entered into the Wallabies Hall of Fame to immortalise their contribution to Australian Rugby based on their sportsmanship, commitment, character and personal contribution to their team and the game in their era.

Throughout the evening, there will also be a number of other awards presented, dignifying the men and women who make the game possible.

Such awards include the HSBC Volunteer of the Year, The Shawn Mackay Award – Rugby Sevens Player of the Year, the Buildcorp NRC Player of the Series, Super Rugby Try of the Year, Qantas Wallabies Rookie of the Year, as well as many more.

Nominees for the awards to be presented:

HSBC Volunteer of the Year
Jessie Treherne
Bill Coulter
Chris Hicks

Roger Vanderfield Award – Referee of the Year
Steve Walsh
Matt O’Brian
Amy Perrett

Nick Farr-Jones – Spirit of Rugby
Tatafu Polata-Nau                   
Wayne Ericson                        
Geoff Larkham
Andrew Purchas
David Brockoff
Pat McCabe
Gary Speckman                       
Stephen Rowntree                  
Henry Speight
Dr Bob Wallace                        
Al Baxter                                 
James Horwill
Matt Hodgson                          
Warren Robilliard                     
Wayne Londema

Under 20s Player of the Year
Jim Stewart
Rowen Perry
Sean McMahon

Buildcorp NRC Player of the Series
Sean McMahon (Melbourne Rising)                        
Samu Kerevi (Brisbane City)
Tala Grey (NSW Country Eagles)                                 
Jarrad Butler (UC Viking)
Jack Debreczeni (Melbourne Rising)         

Super Rugby Rookie of the Year
Adam Coleman (Western Force)                        
Alofa Alofa (NSW Waratahs)
Samu Kerevi (Queensland Reds)                            
JP Smith (ACT Brumbies)
Sean McMahon (Melbourne Rebels)           

Super Rugby Referee of the Year
Angus Gardner
Rohan Hoffman
Steve Walsh

Super Rugby Try of the Year
Israel Folau (v Western Force)
Bernard Foley (v ACT Brumbies)
Kurtley Beale (v Queensland Reds)                           
Scott Higginbotham (v Cheetahs)
Ben McCalman (v Queensland Reds)

Super Rugby Player of the Year
Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs)                          
Matt Toomua (ACT Brumbies)
Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs)                              
Michael Hooper (NSW Waratahs)
Matt Hodgson (Western Force)

Australia’s Choice – Qantas Wallaby of the Year
Adam Ashley-Cooper              
Matt Toomua
Israel Folau                             
Michael Hooper
James Slipper

Women’s Player of the Year
Emilee Cherry (Sevens)                         
Charlotte Caslick (Sevens)
Sharni Williams (Wallaroos and Sevens)                        
Louise Burrows (Wallaroos)
Shannon Parry (Wallaroos and Sevens)

Qantas Men’s Seven’s Player of the Year
Con Foley                               
Ed Jenkins
Cameron Clark                        
Greg Jeloudev
Jesse Parahi

Qantas Wallabies Rookie of the Year
Sam Carter                              
Laurie Weeks                           
Luke Jones                             
Will Skelton
Nathan Charles                        
Jake Schatz

Qantas Wallaby Try of the Year
Michael Hooper (v France in Sydney)                       
Nick Cummins (v France in Brisbane)
Kurtley Beale (v France in Brisbane)                           
Rob Horne (v South Africa in Perth)
Michael Hooper (v France in Brisbane)

John Eales Medal
Israel Folau                             
Michael Hooper
Stephen Moore                        
Tevita Kuridrani
James Slipper

Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend
Recommend Recommend