England name squad to head to NZ

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By RFU Media Unit

England Team Manager Martin Johnson has announced the 30-man squad that will travel to New Zealand for next month’s Rugby World Cup.

Lewis Moody will captain the side at the showpiece tournament where they face Argentina (September 10), Georgia (September 18), Romania (September 24) and Scotland (October 1) in Pool B.

The squad, made up of 17 forwards and 13 backs, has a blend of experience and youth ranging from fly half Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon), who is heading to his fourth World Cup, to London Wasps scrum half Joe Simpson, who is the only uncapped player.

Lock Simon Shaw, at 37, is the oldest player, while Leicester Tigers centre Manu Tuilagi, at 20, is the youngest.

Eleven have featured in previous tournaments, five were World Cup winners in 2003 and eight appeared in the 2007 final defeat to South Africa.

Ten players left the group but will remain on call should injuries affect the squad in the final Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Ireland in Dublin this coming Saturday (August 27), or in while in New Zealand.

They are Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Hendre Fourie (Sale Sharks), Mouritz Botha (Saracens), Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints), Riki Flutey (London Wasps), Tim Payne (London Wasps) and Ugo Monye (Harlequins).

On naming his squad Martin Johnson said: “The composition of the squad is very important and we think we have the right mix in this group.   There were some very tough phone calls made last week; everybody came into this camp and worked extremely hard and some players have just missed out.  

"For us now though it is important to look forward – there is great sense of unity in this group and we are pleased with the depth across the squad.

“We have a number of leaders and experienced players and have named Lewis Moody as squad captain, we are confident he will play a pivotal role for us in New Zealand.

“Ultimately our aim this week is to prepare well for Ireland and toa continue improving as a team. We are all looking forward to the tournament and know that selecting the 30 man squad is just the beginning.”

England Rugby World Cup squad

Dan Cole 
Alex Corbisiero 
Tom Croft
Louis Deacon 
Nick Easter 
Dylan Hartley 
James Haskell
Courtney Lawes 
Lee Mears 
Lewis Moody (c)
Tom Palmer 
Simon Shaw 
Andrew Sheridan 
Matt Stevens 
Steve Thompson
David Wilson 
Tom Wood 

Delon Armitage 
Chris Ashton 
Matt Banahan 
Mark Cueto 
Toby Flood 
Ben Foden
Shontayne Hape 
Joe Simpson 
Mike Tindall 
Manusamoa Tuilagi 
Richard Wigglesworth
Jonny Wilkinson
Ben Youngs